

IOWA BIOTECH SHOWCASE & CONFERENCE

Nurturing Iowa's Biotech Ecosystem

March 4–5, 2025 Ankeny, Iowa

AGENDA

ABOUT IOWABIO

The Iowa Biotechnology Association (IowaBio), a 501(c)6 non-profit trade association, was founded in 1994 to unify Iowa's bioscience industry, academic research institutions, and economic development organizations. We represent more than 100 members spanning our state, invested in Iowa and in the biotech industry.

SPECIAL THANKS

We would like to thank the following individuals for their time and efforts in helping make this year's conference a success:

Conference Planning Committee

- Emily Fuerst, IowaBio Board Chair, Kemin
- Shawn Baier, Heartland Assays
- Alison Baldwin, Faegre Drinker
- Peter Dube, Boehringer Ingelheim
- Irma Fisher, Bayer
- George Girgis, Nevysta
- Adrienne Greenwald, VentureNet Iowa
- Emily Ibach, Pivot Bio
- Todd Krone, PowerPollen
- Mat Muller, Corteva
- Joe Quinn, Faegre Drinker
- Alicia Rosburg, University of Northern Iowa
- Scott Schultz, Des Moines Area Community College
- Nick Svoboda, CRB
- Tony Vanden Bush, Syntherna Inc.

Biotech Showcase Committee

- Adrienne Greenwald, VentureNet Iowa
- Liz Keehner, Next Level Ventures
- Adam Koppes, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation

Iowa Biotech Leader Award Committee

- Billi Hunt, America's Cultivation Corridor
- Tom Swegle, MedCara
- Craige Wrenn, Drake University

Biotech Showcase Judges

- Marsha Bro, Kemin Industries
- Joe Leo, BrownWinick Law
- Tony Moses, At One Ventures
- Donna Ramaeker Zahn, ISU Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship
- Kaylee Williams, InnoVenture Iowa



Last but not least, we want to extend our deepest appreciation to you! Thank you for joining us to connect, collaborate, and celebrate innovation in lowa's biotech industry. Your engagement and contributions help drive progress.

Be sure to stay connected with IowaBio. Scan the QR code with your smartphone camera to visit our website and follow us on social media.



Jessica Hyland, J.D. lowaBio Executive Director jessica@iowabio.org



Mary Lyon, CMP IowaBio Biotech STEM and Administrative Coordinator maryeiowabio.org



Emily Fuerst lowaBio Board Chair Kemin R&D Director

BIOTECH SHOWCASE SPONSOR



STEM SPONSOR



cultivation

VIP DINNER SPONSOR

lowa

BioConnect



RECEPTION & SNACK SPONSOR



LEGISLATIVE UPDATE SPONSOR



POLICY KEYNOTE SPONSOR



KICKOFF EVENT & LUNCH SPONSOR

INDUSTRY KEYNOTE SPONSOR

NETWORKING COFFEE SPONSOR



GOLD SPONSORS

Compelled by Curiosity[™]





University of Iowa Research Foundation



BREAKFAST SPONSOR

SESSION SPONSOR

amazon business

IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY Iowa State University Research Foundation, Inc.

SILVER SPONSORS

Total

Water.

Fredrikson













fisher scientific





Cytion

TUESDAY, MARCH 4

3:30 PM Pre-Session: Iowa's Research Parks Panel: Innovation in Action Moderator: Alison Doyle, Director, ISU Research Park Jon Darsee, Chief Innovation Officer, University of Iowa; President, University of Iowa Research Park Renee Hansen, External Relations Manager, Sukup Dr. Jim Reecy, Associate Vice President for Research, Iowa State University

Kemin Kickoff Reception Remarks

Dr. Chris Nelson, President and CEO, Kemin Industries

IBSC Kickoff Networking Reception

Sponsored by Kemin Industries

Molecular Advancement Center Tours

6:30 PM VIP Dinner (Invite Only) Location: Lucca Sponsored by BioConnect Iowa

WEDNESDAY, MARCH 5

7:00 AM Networking Coffee

Location: Smokey Row Coffee Co. Sponsored by Ag Startup Engine

8:00 AM Registration & Breakfast Location: Iowa FFA Enrichment Center Sponsored by Amazon

9:00 AM Welcome/Opening Remarks Jessica Hyland, Executive Director, IowaBio Emily Fuerst, IowaBio Chair, R&D Director, Kemin

9:10 AM Biotech Showcase Pitch Competition

Sponsored by Kemin Industries

- TRI Medical
- ImPETus
- Immuno Nano Med
- NeuroPred

10-Minute Break

- Shock Soy Hybrids
- LSF Medical Solutions
- Rise Energy
- Hermes Biomaterials

11:20 AM Lunch

Sponsored by Kemin Industries

11:30 AM Industry Keynote Panel: Investing in Iowa's Biotechnology Ecosystem

Sponsored by BrownWinick Moderator: Emily Fuerst, IowaBio Chair, R&D Director, Kemin Dr. Chris Nelson, President and CEO, Kemin Industries Steve Marshall, Global Process Innovation Leader, VP, Cargill Research and Development

Biotech Leader Award Recognition

Sponsored by America's Cultivation Corridor Presented by Billi Hunt, Executive Director, America's Cultivation Corridor

STEM Sponsor Remarks

Sponsored by CJ Bio America Luke Palmer, Director, ESG, CJ Bio America

12:20 PM 10-Minute Break

12:30 PM Breakout Session Part I

Biotech Ventures: Securing the Capital for Scientific Success

Main Conference Room

- Moderator: Mikayla Mooney, Partner, Ag Startup Engine
- Joel Harris, Co-Founder & CEO, Genvax Technologies
- Kevin Ladwig, Managing Director, 1945 Capital
- Adrienne Woodward, Senior Manager of Discovery & Novel Products, United Animal Health

Managing IP Risk for Global Expansion

Room 108/109

- Moderator: Kavi Chawla, Senior Advisor, PowerPollen
- Jon Hjelm, Managing Director and Founding Member, Piper Sandler & Co
- Jason Brege, Attorney (Partner), Smith Anderson
- Jason Cope, Founder and Chief IP Officer, PowerPollen

1:10 PM 10-Minute Break

1:20 PM Breakout Sessions Part II

Learn About Iowa's \$96M Investment to Support Iowa Small Businesses

Room 108/109

- Moderator: Kaylee Williams, Investment Director, InnoVenture Iowa
- Adrienne Greenwald, Managing Principal, VentureNet Iowa
- Anna Lensing, Innovation Project Management, Iowa Economic Development Authority

Why Not Iowa?

Main Conference Room

- Moderator: Anne McMahon, Business Development Manager, IEDA
- Dr. Nicholas Duck, Former Founder and VP of Research, Athenix
- Dr. Todd Krone, Co-Founder and Chief Innovation Officer, PowerPollen
- Casey Niemann, Global Director of Customer Success, John Deere
- Brad Roetman, Director of Lab Operations, Trace Genomics

2:00 PM 10-Minute Break

2:10 PM Breakout Sessions Part III

Sponsored by Iowa State University Research Foundation

Scaling a Biomanufacturing Business from Prototype to Profit: A Playbook on How to Jumpstart Growth Main Conference Room

• Tony Moses, At One Ventures

Decarbonizing the Ethanol Industry with Anaerobic Digestors and Algae *Room 108/109*

- Martin Gross, CEO, Gross-Wen Technologies
- **2:50 PM** 10-Minute Break

3:00 PM Legislative Update

Sponsored by ADM Sara Allen, Principal, Cornerstone Government Affairs Kristin Murphy, Senior Director, Federal Government Relations, BIO

4:00 PM Policy Keynote with IEDA/IFA Executive Director

Sponsored by Corteva Agriscience Debi Durham, Executive Director, Iowa Economic Development Authority (IEDA), Iowa Finance Authority (IFA)

4:20 PM Showcase Award Winners Announcement

Sponsored by Kemin Industries

4:30 PM Reception

Location: FFA Enrichment Center Atrium Sponsored by KENT Corporation